The Stupid Cupid!


cupid

Just when I’d decided it was finally time to stop singing Blue Christmas…just when I thought I’d resolve to feel less lonely – or just when I thought it was safe to at least try – here comes that fat little creep with his bow and arrow aimed to shoot me full of misery.

Okay, maybe I’m being a bit dramatic, venting a year’s worth of frustrations on some little cherub whose sole purpose, presumably, is to spread love. But, hey, he makes himself quite the tempting target. Personally, I’d like to make it through a day without being invaded by his presence. I realize this is the time of year when love is in the air, but, really now, does it have to be at the end of every aisle in my supermarket, on my television, and plastered all over the windows of the homes of my neighbors? In my opinion, as long as he remains so insistent on making his presence known, he’s fair game.

It’s funny, I was never affected by Valentine’s Day when I was single. Cupid came and went each February 14th, and I barely even noticed. This year, however, he is simply another reminder that the one I love is so far away as yet another holiday approaches. Come to think of it, my grudge with Cupid began last year – we spent that one just as we’ve spent nearly every occasion since: apart. To date, I’ve spent more dinners, birthdays, anniversaries, holidays and family hooplas sans dance partner than most single girls I know…all done solo. All these happy events don’t simply serve to heighten the loneliness, the missing, the wistfulness, they also leave me feeling empty and incomplete…sure, I do just fine on my own, but I do a heck of a lot better with my better half. And the festivities always come up somewhat lacking. Take the aforementioned Christmas – have you ever tried to hang mistletoe above an email? Trust me, it doesn’t quite work. And Christmas wasn’t just a day, but an entire season to endure apart! And it’s all Cupid’s fault.

I suppose you’re wondering how an innocent little cherub could be to blame for a whole year’s worth of heartache. Well, I’m willing to admit that I’m overly cranky from missing my beau, if he’s willing to admit he isn’t entirely “innocent”. After all, he got us into this predicament to begin with. Who knew that arrow of his could fly so far? He’s the one who took aim at the two of us, couldn’t he have at least made it easier for us to have more time together? At the very least, he should’ve arranged a couple of holidays, maybe called in a favor from Santa Claus or something..

Yes, yes, I know I should be grateful that the little guy even brought us together to begin with. And I am, believe me, but the whole “grateful to have you even though we’re apart” thing was already exhausted last Thanksgiving. This holiday, we’d like to celebrate someplace other than just “in our hearts”…whattaa say, Cupid? Someplace where we are both actually physically present would be nice. Otherwise, your constant presence is nothing more than a painful reminder. So stop lingering around, heart in hand, arrow poised.

Because unless you’re going to shoot me full of frequent flyer miles, Stupid Cupid, you’re a real mean guy.


1 Comment

  1. How do I buy this


Comments RSS

Leave a comment